Announcement: Going Full Time

Hello everyone!

It’s been such a long time since I’ve blogged here, it feels like. I haven’t been around much due to family, life in general, and I was staying very, very busy working for the brands I was working with for the past couple of years now. However; that is not an issue anymore. To be perfectly honest, I cut ties working with those three brands, and I’m not the least bit sad about it, nor do I miss it. I believe, when I first began writing and got into writing for the beauty world, that at that time the genre was for me. As time wore on, I realized how detached I really was from the genre, and how, as a mom, it was difficult to write a lot of the articles I was forced to write, a lot of them being based on beauty for teens (sidenote: I don’t allow my teenage daughters to wear any sort of makeup – so you can see how it would be a conflicting, difficult topic for me to write on) and I also had to write a lot of articles on things I didn’t believe in, such as horoscope based material, and just couldn’t say no due to fear of losing my job or fear of being shunned. There were a million other reasons why I stuck around and didn’t want to do the ‘wrong’ thing and just up and resign, but – the straw that broke the camel’s back was when the woman I worked for began treating me like a writer from some third world country and wanted me to work for free. That was where I had to draw the line. I am not a slave; I am an American mother, wife, and hard worker. I don’t deserve that. Without going into too much detail, it’s best that the ‘partnership’, if you will, between myself and the brands, has come to an end.

With that being said, I want to announce that I am now looking for work full time in the mommy blog genre. I want to write family oriented articles or something along those lines being that it’s my passion – and I know plenty about parenting! I feel that it would make me very happy at the end of the day, and I would love the opportunity. I am blasting out e-mails this week and I’m going to be pitching as many magazines as I possibly can with different articles, and if even one company, publication, or blog reaches back out to me, I will be happy. It is NOT easy finding paid writing work, I will say that. It’s also a lot more difficult when switching genres. I hardly have anything to show for my parenting/family oriented articles, but I know I can create some amazing content. On the other hand I’ve got thousands upon thousands of beauty related articles and magazine articles in which I’ve written. It’s going to be a bit difficult getting my foot in the door, I’m sure, with the influx of mommy bloggers in the world today. I know there’s plenty of room for one more. 🙂

I am also thinking of saving up a bit and getting a nice website designed through WordPress.org rather than .com due to the flexibility and options available there. I’ve heard lots of good things about it. I want to be able to monetize my site, and make a little something off of the time I will spend here now that, at least for now, I’m done with beauty and I want to give that a rest.

I can’t wait to begin posting more here. I have a lot in store. There’s going to be a bunch of new content over the next month, so be sure to check back frequently!

I hope you all have a blessed week. xo

Leave a Reply

