Favorite Ways to Unwind: My Hobbies

As a mom, it can be really difficult to find the time to do anything for myself. I’m sure all of you moms can relate. Moms with more than one child can probably relate a little bit more. In my case, I’ve got 5 children. Finding time for myself is something that only happens once in a blue moon. When I do get time to myself, though, there are a few things I absolutely love to do. Here are just a few of them.

 

writing

Writing

I love blogging, writing lyrics, writing with pen and paper, writing letters, writing poetry, stories and more. I don’t really know why, but writing has always been something I’ve been passionate about since I was a little kid. I have had articles published in magazines, written brochures, content for websites, product descriptions for clothing companies and much, much more. I guess it’s just my ‘thing’, and it’s what I’m good at. It allows my mind to drift away and think, and gives me an expressive outlet.

 

b2fe7b58-eb9f-4c6e-90d4-e36c1e394d32

Photography

I have a pretty awesome Sony camera, and although it’s not super professional quality, it’s a pretty nice camera. I love taking pictures of nature, and my kids in nature. I also just love taking pictures of my children in general.

 

beautiful-bathroom-tub-romantic

Take a Bath

Taking a bath for me is one of the most fabulous ways to just relax and unwind. I’d so much rather spend a Friday night in a hot bubble bath, surrounded by candles and music, than out at some stinky, stuffy bar having drinks. I love listening to Enya or Celtic Woman when I am trying to relax or meditate. I have a huge collection of bath products and lots of them haven’t even been touched yet because I don’t have much time to take a long, relaxing soak.

 

silver-brush-crystal-6824s-brushes

Painting

Most of you probably aren’t aware, but I absolutely love painting. I started off with oils when my husband bought me a nice oil starter kit a few years back. He knew I had always wanted to try oil painting. From that moment on, it’s been one of my favorite things to do. I adore it. I also paint with acrylics now, and I love that as well. I think watercolors are beautiful,  but they aren’t my thing.

 

th

Music or Singing

Another thing most people may not know about me is, I love to sing – and I am pretty darn good at it, too. I took vocal lessons for 4 years when I was younger and I really believe it helped me develop a wide range as far as pitch is concerned. I have my own style but I am pretty versatile. My husband swears I sound like Amy Lee from Evanescence, which is awesome in its own regard – and she’s also one of my favorite singers – so I guess that’s probably why. I can play the flute (also took lessons most my life) but I no longer own one. I can play a bit of guitar as well.

 

book_PNG2123.png

Reading

Reading is, always has, and always will be one of my favorite things to do of all time. I don’t even care what it is that I’m reading; it could be a mystery novel, magazine, or even the back of a cereal box. I was the weird kid that would stay inside in the summertime, indulging in a good book in my bedroom, rather than wanting to go outside and play. I don’t think much has changed. Reading is another one of those things that just transports me to another time and place, and I really get into books I enjoy. Pair a good book with a cup of hot coffee or tea, and I’m really in Heaven. My dream is to one day have my own tiny little book nook, that is well lit with books everywhere, a cozy recliner chair with a blanket, and a small side table for a teacup, and I just want to be able to escape there and relax.

 

crafts

Crafts

Like most of you, I’ve become a Pinterest addict. And with that, I have also become an addict of all things crafty. I love sitting down and getting creative and crafting! Speaking of which, click  ‘Pinterest’ above to follow me on Pinterest!

 

Those are just a few of my favorite things to do when I have me time. What, as a mom, do you like to do in your free time? Comment below, I’d love to read them!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Favorite Ways to Unwind: My Hobbies

Leave a Reply

