Holding Your Baby – For a Price?

Picture this: imagine going through with a c-section, and anticipating that first beautiful skin to skin moment with your baby. Your baby is born healthy and perfect, just as you knew they’d be, and the nurses quickly clean them up and immediately place your baby on your chest. The feeling is unforgettable. Nothing can compare to seeing, smelling and touching your baby for the very first time.

Those few moments of skin to skin are so beneficial for mom and baby. Fast forward a few weeks to the point of being home and settled with baby. You’re still developing a routine, but you’re getting in the groove of things. And then you get a copy of your hospital bill in the mail. You review the charges over a cup of coffee, and realize that you were actually, really charged for that skin to skin time. Say WHAT?!

Unbelievably, that’s exactly what happened to a couple from Utah. The Grassley family was shocked when they received this charge on their bill summary, but found it to be exceptionally laughable, at the very least.

“The nurse let me hold the baby on my wife’s neck/chest,” he wrote on the website. “Even borrowed my camera to take a few pictures for us. Everyone involved in the process was great, and we had a positive experience. We just got a chuckle out of seeing that on the bill,” Grassler tells Fox News in a recent intreview.

He took to social media – Reddit, to be exact – to share a picture of his wife’s hospital bill and the charges:

 

screenshot_2016-10-05-19-40-29-1

Bill of charges detailing $39 skin-to-skin fee – courtesy Reddit

Although the Grassler’s are dealing with this charge in an oh-so-calm manner, as news about the charge hit the internet, mom’s everywhere were appalled and upset, myself included. If I were to have received such a charge, I don’t know that I would have reacted as calmly as they did. In fact, I’d have raised one heck of a stink. That’s my baby, and you’re going to charge me for what, exactly? Its absolutely unacceptable for a hospital to charge a mother or father to hold their baby in any manner they see fit, at all, ever. EVER.

I spoke to a local hospital’s maternity unit for their input on the story. This is what they had to say:

“Although we don’t yet charge for skin-to-skin contact after birth, many hospitals are now tagging fees onto the moment because everything that goes on in a hospital has to be accounted for, and nearly everything has a price. From disposal fees, to cleanup fees, and more. And sadly, even skin to skin may be tagged with a fee. Although we don’t deem it morally correct, it is popping up on delivery charges and bill breakdowns across the country,” says Peggy, RN, at Golisano Childrens Hospital of Fort Myers.

How would you react? Sound off in the comments below.I’d love to know your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “Holding Your Baby – For a Price?

  1. Leanne says:

    I just had a baby in August and now I feel the need to take a double look at my hospital bill. How can the hospital possibly justify charging you for holding YOUR child? The child which just came out of YOU? The hospital bill with legitimate charges is enough to make you faint but to see a fee for holding your child is atrocious.

    Sickening.

    Great post 🙂

    Leanne
    Joysofbeingamom

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sarah E. McCormick says:

      Leanne –
      I absolutely agree 100%. I had just given birth in February myself, and while I didn’t get hit with this ludacris fee, I know many moms, such as yourself, now feel the need to take a second look at their bills. I don’t blame you one bit. If I were billed for this, however, I would certainly not pay it, and would contest this charge with the hospital for sure. I just cannot fathom how any medical institution could be so arrogant to impose a charge for something so natural as holding your own child?! And as you said, YOU grew that child, NOT them. YOU went through the birth of that child, and YOU have been the one to wait 9 long, tiring months to hold your baby. As I said, I’ll be damned if a hospital is going to tell me I have to PAY to hold my child. Thank you so much for your comment – and I appreciate you taking the time to read my post!

      Like

Leave a Reply

