Walmart Baby Box Review

20161020_173506.jpg

Tonight, I am doing a quick review of the #WalmartBabyBox that I received free, courtesy of Walmart. When I signed up to receive this baby box, the box and shipping were free. Since then, I have been made aware that Walmart has since began charging shipping for the box. They also have a toddler box, which costs a bit more in shipping than does the infant box. Nonetheless, let’s get onto the sample products I received.

First up is a list of products I got to try:

  • One MAM bottle with newborn/slow flow nipple
  • One MAM Newborn Pacifier
  • 1 packet Ensueno Baby Fabric Softener
  • 1 small tube of Dr. Smith’s Diaper Rash Cream
  • 1 small bottle Aquaphor Baby Gentle Wash & Shampoo
  • 1 packet Dapple Baby Bottle and Dish wash
  • 1 Dapple Coupon for $1.00 off
  • 1 Ensueno Baby Fabric Softener Coupon for $1.00 off

As for what I thought about each of the products:

The MAM bottle, I’m sure, is a great bottle. When Baby Richi was a newborn and all the way up until he was 3 or 4 months old, I bottle and breast fed him pumped milk. He has since taken a sincere hatred to bottles, and I cannot get him to take one for anything. But, when I did used to bottle feed him, MAM was one of our favorite bottles. I am giving this in a haul to a local women and children’s shelter I am dropping donations to tomorrow. The same goes for the pacifier because it’s too small for him now, therefore posing a choking hazard. I only use MAM brand pacifiers, though, so I know this is a great item.

The Ensueno Baby Fabric Softener smells heavenly – just like baby powder. I have been a fan of the Ensueno brand ever since I smelled their regular laundry detergent a few years back, and I was hooked. It seems to be quite popular here in Southwest Florida with the Spanish population. That brand along with Foca and Ariel – all three of which smell fantabulous! I recommend giving Ensueno Baby a try. It hasn’t given Richi any rashes at all, and the smell lasts and lasts. Win!

As for the Dapple – I am already a huge fan as you can see in this post. I can’t be without the stuff. I highly recommend it.

As for the Aquaphor Gentle Wash and Shampoo, I adore it. I love all Aquaphor products, and Aquaphor baby products are just about as gentle as you can get for delicate baby skin. Will they leave your baby smelling scented? No, because the products aren’t scented – but they clean your baby just as well as the scented brands, and without any unnecessary rashes or reactions. If your baby has sensitive skin, I strongly recommend this product.

The Dr. Smith’s Diaper rash cream seemed to alleviate Richi’s irritation from a bad diaper experience we had this week (we used a generic diaper as an emergency backup until I could get to the store…never again) but I just couldn’t get past the smell. It smells very menthol-y to me, with a mix of Camphor, maybe. I don’t know, I just know I didn’t quite like the scent at all and even when he was diapered and had clothes on, I could still smell it and it was quite strong. If the scent wasn’t so overpowering, I would recommend this product. If you’re sensitive to strong smells like I am, though, I’d steer clear. There are other brands that are just as effective such as The Honest Co or Desitin.

If you asked me if I thought paying shipping for this box was worth it, I’d say no. I just don’t feel it’s justifiable to pay $4.00 in shipping for a box of sample products that aren’t going to last for more than one use for the most part – the bottle and pacifier excluded. I would be willing to pay shipping for larger sample sizes, just not for such insignificant amounts of product.

Overall, I’m pretty happy with my baby box – and I’m sure the shelter will appreciate the bottle and pacifier, along with the formula and baby clothes I will be dropping off tomorrow. I love to help where I can.

I hope everyone has a great night!

Leave a Reply

