Spanish Food Challenge

Good Morning, all of my lovely friends!

It’s a very cool morning here in South West Florida, and the sun is barely just rising. I am sitting here at the kitchen table with a cup of coffee, of course, and waiting for the baby to wake up. He should be up anytime now.

I have challenged myself this week to cook as many Spanish recipes as I possibly can for fun. The night before last I made Carne Asada, white rice, homemade pinto beans and Picadillo for the kids. OhmyGosh, did it come out good!! Last night, I made Carne Asada again because my husband really liked it. And I had another steak I needed to use up. So, while it wasn’t done with the traditional flank steak like the night before, it came out great nonetheless.

I don’t know why I put myself up to the challenge, only that I am having so much fun with it and I am excited to try some new recipes!

Tonight I plan on making homemade black beans & Arroz Blanco, but I haven’t settled on a meat yet. Decisions, decisions.

I also really want to make Horchata again! I made it a few years back and I remember it being so much work and taking such a long time, but when it was finished I had made a ton of it and it was so worth the wait. I refuse the stuff in a bag on a store shelf since having had the real deal at a few Mexican restaurants and at the local flea market from the Mexican vendors. I will never go back to that bagged garbage again!

I may be posting recipes! Stay tuned!

I am also thinking about some type of Mexican dessert, like Wedding Cookies or something. We shall see what happens!

I hope everyone is having a fabulous week so far! And I will make plenty so there’s some for everyone.

Hasta la Vista!

 

Leave a Reply

