What I’m Thankful for Being Without

The title of this post says a lot of things to different people. You might at first glance see it and assume I am writing about being thankful for something, and you’d be right. But if you think I am going to go off on a cliche tangent and start spewing all of the amazing blessings I have been given this year, you’re wrong. Today, I’m going to talk a little bit about something not many people think to talk about – and that, my friends, is the things I am thankful I don’t have. Weird, right? Read on.

Thanksgiving is always about being thankful for something. With the season upon us, I am thankful for so many things. But I also want to discuss some of the things I am thankful I don’t have. Sometimes, not having a lot of things or stuff is a good thing. It helps you to appreciate things more when you do get new stuff. And then again, sometimes, it’s nice to not have certain things at all.

For instance, I am thankful I don’t have a husband who stays out drinking late at night after he gets off work. He comes home to me, and the kids, eats dinner with me, and spends quality time with his children. I’m thankful I don’t have a husband who goes out and does me wrong. I am thankful I don’t have a deadbeat for a husband, who doesn’t provide for his family. I am so thankful I don’t have a drug addict for a husband, or one who prefers sitting at home rather than working. No, my husband loves to work, and he works hard for his family. He is an amazing man.

I’m thankful for not having friends. Better to have none, than to have fake friends, Amen? I choose the company I keep wisely nowadays, and I’m okay with the fact that I don’t have a single ‘real’ friend at all. All my friends live on the computer (LOL) and I’m okay with that, too! Honestly, I have a couple girls I text and we talk often, and I love their friendship.

I’m thankful my son isn’t getting into trouble anymore. Therefore, I’m thankful I don’t have a juvenile delinquent for a child. Yay!

I’m thankful I don’t have to put up with my family, who lives 1,200 miles away, at all, ever. Especially at this time of year. They’re their own soap opera. I’m not even kidding you.

I’m thankful for not having to go outside to use the bathroom like people did in the olden days. I can’t imagine a 3 AM trip to the outhouse. Therefore, I’m thankful for indoor plumbing. I’m so serious.

I’m thankful I don’t have a ton of money. We do very well for ourselves, but more money = more problems. I’m thankful we have enough to live very comfortably, but I’m glad we aren’t rich.

I’m thankful I don’t have cancer. I had cervical cancer cells which we beginning to grow 12 years ago, so I am thankful I am still here today.

I’m thankful I don’t have to live in a communist country. ‘Merica.

I’m thankful I didn’t stay a working mom. I’m so thankful I got to be a SAHM with my baby boy.

I’m thankful I don’t have to sleep outdoors. I hate bugs. And snakes. Ugh.

And last but not least, I’m especially thankful that Jesus didn’t think it was me who belonged on that cross. I’m glad he took it for me, so I can live.

I hope you got a laugh 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving, ya’ll!

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I’m Thankful for Being Without

Leave a Reply

