Parenting Isn’t Easy.

A topic of discussion that I’ve been meaning to speak upon lately and just haven’t had the time is how difficult it can be to be a parent. While parenting is incredibly rewarding most days, there are those days where we fall short of incredible as moms and dads, and we falter a bit – at least, I do – and I’m not afraid to admit that. And I think that’s okay. Parenting isn’t easy.

Nobody ever gave me, as a new parent, a handbook detailing what to do when such-and-such a thing happens. Nobody ever instructed me on what to do when things just do not go as planned whatsoever. Nor did anyone inform me how hard things can become at times.

I’ve been at this mom thing for almost 18 years now. Damn, that’s a long time.

But at the end of the day? I’m supermom. I kick ass at what I do. I do it well. I’m a great mom, and I give it 110% on the daily. I push through the hard times with my game face on and get whatever needs to be done, done. And somehow, I manage to survive – and keep everyone else alive, safe, and happy – in the process. #Winning

Sometimes, it’s all I can do to just get through a day. It’s especially hard on me sometimes having a child who has been diagnosed with Oppositional Defiance Disorder, a Conduct disorder, a mood disorder, and Bipolar 2 Disorder (yes, all diagnoses in the same child) and it becomes increasingly difficult when he refuses his medication. There’s never an easy way to force a 13 year old to take his meds. Believe me, I try.

One thing I can say for absolute certain: there’s never  – I repeat, never – a dull moment around my house. At least I can say that much. I am always busy, I always have something going on, and something to do.

My life is chaos. Complete chaos at times. I relish those moments where I get a minute to just close my eyes, take a sip of coffee or tea, and just breathe. Those moments I get a minute of ‘me’ time are my reward after my reward. My first reward is being a mom.

No matter how stressful life gets as a mom, I know it’s my calling in life. I’m good at so many things, but to be their mom is my biggest life calling, and my biggest blessing. I take it all in one deep, relaxed breath – and I breathe out all the love and positivity I possibly can in exchange. It’s never easy being a parent. But it’s always worth it.

One thought on “Parenting Isn’t Easy.

Leave a Reply

