Teenagers: Parenting’s Biggest Pain in the Ass

The title pretty much sums it all up, now doesn’t it?

Teenagers are, for lack of a better word, difficult. Some of them are a breeze to parent, while others (and most, if I’m being honest) are insanely difficult to deal with, tolerate, parent, be around, look at, and more. The list goes on. Hey, you all already know that here on my blog, I pretty much tell it like it is – no sugar coating, no fabrication of any sort. So, when I say they’re difficult, that’s putting it nicely. Very nicely.

Truth be told, they’re generally a bunch of pains-in-the-ass(es). But, as their mama, I love my kids to death. I’d do anything for them. Always have, always will.

But why oh why must they be so disrespectful, rude, mouthy, wild, and insane??

Why do they feel the need to show their personalities through means of wearing the most ironic and flat out stupid outfits possible, dying their hair every single color known to man, piercing their faces behind your back, plotting against you as a parent, and trash talking you to their friends because they think it’s cool and acceptable behavior? Not that my kids do that…or do they? I’m just saying.

I feel like I’m constantly torn between wanting to be as nice as humanly possible to them, and having to play drill sergeant. I seriously have days where one minute, everything is great and life feels like a happy little rainbow filled sky with gumdrop raindrops and sugar on top with my teens, and then all of a sudden – bam! Life happens, and I’m running around like a chicken with my head cut off, yelling at people and probably looking hilarious to them, all while trying to regain some sort of sanity and not completely lose it.

I guess the answer to the question of why teenagers are so crazy, is hormones. It seems fair to blame it on the hormones. I’d rather not expect that these kids of mine will grow up and become anything close to the people they are choosing to be right now. I love them dearly, but if these are the kinds of people they are going to choose to be, I’ll kick their butts.

Psychiatrist Daniel Siegel tells NPR.org, “It’s time to rethink adolescence as a time of great opportunity, as well as challenge.”

I’m certainly seeing the challenges. I’m living them every single day. Opportunity, on the other hand, is seemingly being wasted on things they don’t quite necessarily realize they are wasting it on.

Sometimes, at the end of the day, I just want to go to bed by 8 PM because I’m so whooped after the mental and emotional exhaustion of the day. On really bad days, I’m ready for a glass of wine and a bath. However, since Richi has been born, I haven’t had a single glass of wine – I’m too terrified to pass the alcohol through to him, despite ‘people’ saying it’s safe. And sometimes, if it’s a really, really good day, I might happen to go to bed without my blood pressure being sky high, having actually taken a shower, and for once, finishing my dinner without being forced to rush through my food and or eat it cold. That doesn’t happen often, but it does happen on occasion.

I suppose in my case, it’s a bit tougher than it is for most parents of teenagers, being that I have an almost 12 month old baby as well as a son who has mental illness and gives me a very, very, very hard time as often as he can decidedly think to.

My ultimate goal is to survive these teenage years, and make it through to the other side, sanity in tact and hair still in place on my head.

But for now, I will just continue to blame it on the hormones.

Leave a Reply

