My Baby is One.

A year consists of 365 days, 12 months, 52 weeks, 8765 hours, 525948 minutes and 31556926 seconds. During each of those days, months, weeks, hours, minutes and seconds, I have spent every bit of that time in awe that the most perfect little human known to mankind aside from Jesus (okay, so I’m completely biased) is mine.

Today, my little love, you are 1.

Where has the time gone? Where did all of that time run off to and hide?

I honestly cannot fathom how a year has gone by. On the one hand, it feels like my boy has been here forever. On the other hand, it feels like just yesterday I was having an emergency c-section and my baby was being taken away to the NICU where he would spend the first portion of his life (you can read about our NICU story and my birth story here).

From those consistent every-two-hour feedings throughout the night, to every single diaper change, to the warm snuggles and soft baby skin against my own, to the smell of every baby breath he would exhale – I was there. I count myself incredibly lucky, because some moms aren’t blessed enough to be able to stay home with their baby, but I have been. I have been able to witness most of his firsts – his first laugh, the first time he rolled over, the first time he slept through the night. The first time he ate baby food, and the first time he crawled, I was there. There are so many things I was able to be there for, and Lord knows I don’t take any of it for granted. I am so blessed!

Today, as I celebrate the life of the baby boy who changed my entire world, and who taught me so much about what being a mother is all over again, and most of all, who taught me how to love again – I reflect on every moment spent with him, and I would never trade it for a single thing in the entire world.

I would lay down my life in a second if it meant you were okay. I just don’t know how or why God chose me to be the lucky lady that gets to be your mama, but I promise I am forever grateful to Him and I thank Him as often as I can think to. I love you so much, my beautiful, sweet baby boy.

He’s changed so much in this one short year. I could never ask for a sweeter baby. He loves giving hugs and kisses, smiling, laughing, and being attached to mama’s hip isn’t an option. He adores me, and I him. If being his mama means sacrificing my own life and selfish desires, so be it. He is everything!

If you’ve ever wanted to know the feeling of true love, this, my friends, is what true love feels like.

Here are a few pictures of my sweet guy over the last months I was pregnant with him, up until now. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy Birthday, my sweet baby love. There is nothing more I could ever ask for than to be your mama.

Leave a Reply

