Silly Little Love – An Etsy Store Review + GIVEAWAY!

Good Morning, friends!

It’s been a wild couple of weeks, and I haven’t been around nearly as much as I would like due to circumstances beyond my control. But, as you all know, I pop on as often as I possibly can. I am excited to be able to have some free time to write this blog post for all of you, and share with you one of my newest favorite Etsy stores – Silly Little Love.

When I came across the Silly Little Love store, I instantaneously fell in love with the name. It’s cute, catchy, and fun. While browsing around through the products, I fell in love! She has some of the prettiest amber teething necklaces I’ve seen, as well as other products such as silicone teething necklaces, breastfeeding bracelets, and even hazelwood necklaces. I reached out to store owner, Amber, and let her know how much I loved the products.  I was so thrilled when she took the time to respond to my e-mail, and so generously offered to send some products my way to test and review. She is an amazing woman and I just adore her and her products.

Before I get into the items I was privileged to review and test out, I would like to take a few minutes to really shine the light on Amber and her family for a few moments. I believe she deserves that recognition and credit due to how absolutely amazing she is.

When Amber was pregnant with her first baby, Zoey, she had been reading up a lot on amber necklaces. After having purchased one, she realized she could probably make one that was a bit more girly as she seemed to have a hard time finding cute, girly themed necklaces. After making a few of her own for her baby and for friends and family, her husband encouraged her to begin making these necklaces to sell and to open an Etsy shop. She didn’t think she would be successful, but to her surprise, things are going very well. I hope things continue to blossom into bigger, better things for her and her lovely family!

More About the Mom Behind the Brand

Amber is a mom to a beautiful five year old girl named Zoey, and, as she puts it, a ‘crazy-cute’ 3 year old boy named Logan. She wasn’t lying when she said her kids were adorable, either – they really are! See for yourselves!

1

5 year old Zoey

icm_fullxfull-111270466_pmleybmoobkg0oc44www

3 Year Old Logan

Amber and her husband of 13 years are both employed and work outside their Texas home. Amber is a Pediatric nurse, and her husband is a firefighter/paramedic. Amber hopes that with time, she can develop her Etsy store into a thriving business to enable her to be home with her children more often. Whenever they find some free time, they both enjoy and love spending time outdoors in nature with the kids, and also, spending some time at the zoo – which is their favorite place to be.

Amber and Family.jpg

Amber and Family

 

The Products

So, now, I want to get into the products themselves. Here are some pictures of the gorgeous items I received. I seriously shrieked when I opened the package, because I loved the beautiful boxes and bows (what girl doesn’t, right?) and how neat and pretty everything was when I took it out of the package!

20170216_155152

20170216_173532

20170216_173509

In the first picture, you can see just how cute Amber packages everything up when she sends her items out. She doesn’t just toss everything into a bubble mailer and ship it out, it’s beautifully packaged with a pretty bow. I just love this extra special touch. Also pictured with the boxes is the silicone teething necklace she sent me. I will speak a bit more about that in a minute…but isn’t it all so gorgeous? I appreciate a nice presentation!

In the second picture from left to right, you can see the amber teething necklace, the breastfeeding bracelet, and the hazelwood necklace.

In the third picture, you can see all four items.

Okay, so first and foremost – I have to admit, I was most interested in testing out the amber teething necklace before I received the package because I had never used one before, and Richi was literally in the middle of getting two teeth at once. I figured it couldn’t hurt to try and I would so much rather use a natural approach rather than any medications if unnecessary. Especially with all the recalls of the natural teething tablets, and the information about gum numbing gels causing low oxygen levels in the baby’s bloodstream, you can never be too careful. So, when the package arrived, that was the very first thing I tried on him and he wore it all the time except for when he was sleeping for the first week, at least. Of course, I obsessively supervised him as I always do. After that first week, I added the hazelwood necklace into the mix. He would wear both simultaneously. The particular amber necklace she sent me for review, I believe, is a baltic amber necklace from her raw cherry collection. I love it!

20170224_123953

Richi wearing his amber teething necklace and his hazelwood necklace

Now, for those of you who aren’t aware, Richi has suffered from severe acid reflux since birth due to prematurity. He was on Zantac for most of his life until it stopped working, and we switched his medication to Nexium. I constantly felt terrible for having to medicate my baby every single day, even though I know the medication was very necessary. Hazelwood necklaces have been used by people suffering from acid reflux with great success. I didn’t know this until I did some research after having received the necklace. I was then even more excited for that necklace to work it’s magic than I was for the amber teething necklace to work it’s magic.

20170224_123815

Here is a bit about hazelwood necklaces from Amber’s Etsy page:

Hazelwood is an alkaline wood that is known for its antioxidant and anti-inflammatory effects. When worn on the skin the hazelwood absorbs excess acidity in the body to help balance the body’s pH to create an alkaline environment.

Hazelwood has been worn by children for years to help with teething pain, reflux and digestion issues such as constipation. Since hazelwood has also been known to treat several other ailments such as arthritis, migraines, and skin issues like eczema and psoriasis, adults have come to find relief in this product as well.

These beads come from Quebec, Canada where hazelwood trees can be found. The necklaces have been safety knotted so if it were to break only a couple beads would fall off the thread. Babies are not to chew directly on the necklace and should never be left unattended with it.

*hazelwood necklaces will need to be replaced about every 6 months or so. As they absorb acidity from the body the ends of the beads will begin to turn black which indicates it is time to replace the necklace*

After having tested these products out for the past two weeks, I am ready to form and base a solid opinion on them. Are you ready? *Drumroll, please!*

THEY WORK.

Both of them. They both work so incredibly well, I want to scream it from the rooftops!

Not only did Richi cut two teeth (and he’s also working on a third) pain free and happily, without even acting fussy at all, but he also (this is huge) has been weaning off of his medication for the acid reflux for the past 3 days. That’s right, ladies. He has not had to take his medication at all for the past 3 days, and I truly believe without a shadow of a doubt that I owe it all to these two necklaces. Moreso, I owe it all to Amber.

THANK YOU, Amber!

I had discussed weaning Richi off his meds a couple months back with his GI doctor, and she said to go for it but to do it slowly. Each time I had tried, I had to put him right back on it again. I tried three different times, but his body still needed the medication. That is, up until the point where we began using the necklaces. Now my little guy is doing amazing and I don’t think we are going to need to put him back on his medication! This means so much to me. I can’t even begin to explain how much. His appetite is huge, and he is growing better than ever! This is a baby who wasn’t gaining weight well from birth, and who has always been in the 3rd or below percentile. In the past few weeks since using the hazelwood necklace, Richi’s weight has gone up a whole pound!

Not only do these necklaces work so incredibly well, but they are also so beautiful!

20170216_210536

Daddy holding Richi on his birthday night, and he was once again wearing his gorgeous necklaces!

So, there’s that for those two products. I could rave on and on all day long. I’m so happy with the products, seriously.

As for the silicone necklace: Richi loves it. I wear it when I’m nursing him, and he uses it as a distraction type toy to hold while he nurses. It really helps out a lot, because not only does it give him something interesting to look at and hold, but it also gives me a break in that I don’t get my hair yanked, face slapped or scratched, or slapped anymore. Win! LOL He also really loves grabbing onto it and biting it when I’ve got him seated on my hip – which is most the day. It’s super cute, too, and the colors can pretty much be paired to go with anything!

The breastfeeding bracelet is also really cool. It’s a simple, easy way to track your feedings – especially at the beginning, when you are learning and getting the hang of it – and when baby cluster feeds – and makes a breastfeeding mama’s job so much easier. Basically, it’s a time tracker for your last feeding. Each bead represents 15 minute intervals, and allows you to know when it’s time to nurse with ease.

20170228_221931

The pretty and useful breastfeeding necklace. As you can see here, the time I last fed was 9:30 PM. To effectively use the bracelet, simply move the charm from your last feeding to the designated time slot of your newest feeding. So, if you feed at 10:45, move the charm 3 beads past 10.

I wish I would have known about this bracelet in the early days of my breastfeeding journey with Richi. There were times where it was so difficult to remember when his last feeding was while I was so sleep deprived – and during cluster feeding, it made things even more chaotic and hard to remember. I recommend these breastfeeding bracelets to every new breastfeeding mom. Trust me. It’s so much easier than downloading apps, writing things down on paper that you can accidentally lose or throw away, or spill something on – or worse yet, trying to just simply remember when your last feed was. Aside from being incredibly functional, it’s cute, to boot!

All in all, I absolutely loved every single product I received from Silly Little Love. Would I pay cash for each of these products if I hadn’t received them in exchange for a review? You bet I would! In fact, I am definitely going to purchase another hazelwood necklace for absolute certain once this one wears out, which I’ve read can happen around 6 months of use or so. But it’s money well spent! If your baby has acid reflux, I strongly urge you to give these necklaces a try. I can honestly, honestly say they have changed our life.

I would love it if you would all go on over and follow Amber on Instagram:

@sillylittlelove

and check out her Etsy store:

http://www.Etsy.com/shop/SillyLittleLove

But, wait! Don’t go yet! I saved the best for last!

Amber so generously sent me an extra special giveaway gift for ONE lucky reader!

So, who would like to win a Baltic amber teething necklace from her raw cognac collection? I see some hands raised!

20170228_2234152

All you have to do is click the link below and enter the giveaway via Rafflecopter. I will choose one random winner on March 8th, so be on the lookout for an announcement and for an e-mail in your inbox if you’re the winner! Good luck!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this review as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it and bringing it to you. It makes my heart smile to shine some light on small businesses and share some information you may not have previously been aware of. If you have any questions for Amber or for me, please feel free to leave them in a comment!

Enter the Giveaway!

2 thoughts on “Silly Little Love – An Etsy Store Review + GIVEAWAY!

  1. samantha says:

    That bracelet is pretty neat! I wish I would have known about it when I was breastfeeding, the necklace is really pretty too. Def going to check out her etsy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

