Breast Milk Jewelry: Montague Milk Pearls, a Review

Every  mother who actually enjoys breastfeeding dreads the day that she and her baby will no longer have that special bond or connection. Breastfeeding is, for some, that last tether between mother and child; the last physical connection between you and your baby’s body. It’s the last time you will be able to nurture and feed your child and be all they need. It’s special. It’s what God intended. And, above all, it’s something to be remembered fondly.

For me, breastfeeding has been quite the journey. It hasn’t been easy by any means. This child and I have gone through heaven, hell, and back on our incredible 1+ years worth of breast feeding. Even though he still nurses on demand, which usually equals anywhere from 3-5 times a day now that he’s eating lots of solids, I know that our time as a breastfeeding mama and baby will soon come to a close. I’m not ready, nor do I think I will ever be mentally prepared for the end. But, whenever he’s ready, we will stop. I don’t want to force him to stop, and I don’t want to wean him just yet. I want him to do things in his own time and we will go from there.

With all that being said, I decided since breastfeeding means so much to me, I wanted something beautiful to remember our special time together. That’s why I reached out to Ashley of Montague Milk Pearls to see what she could create for me. She happily agreed to work with me and provide this gorgeous piece of breast milk jewelry for a sponsored review.

Montague Milk Pearls is a store in which I found on my favorite online marketplace – Etsy, of course – and they are one of the creators of the beautiful breast milk jewelry pieces you can see across the internet. I hadn’t even heard of breast milk jewelry until a friend of mine had purchased some, and I saw the pictures. Even though she purchased from a different company, I was all in in terms of getting some jewelry of my own made.

What is breast milk jewelry, you may be wondering?

If you’re like I was and you’re completely oblivious to what breastmilk jewelry even is, let me enlighten you.

Basically, it’s jewelry made from your own breast milk. Yes, that’s a thing! Amazing, isn’t it?

For me, the process was super simple and quite stress free. Thanks to Ashley, I had a wonderful experience!

I got to pick out the piece I wanted from her Etsy store – in my case, I went with the Rococo Breast milk ring, which is a delicate rosebud attached to a brass ring (it’s not a fitted ring, so it’s adjustable). The rose is actually made up of my breast milk. Yes, it’s quite incredible!

I then sent in about 2 tablespoons worth of pumped milk to Ashley to her home in Texas, where she then preserved the milk through a natural, non-chemical preservation process, and from there, she created this beautiful piece of art and a wonderful memory for me to have forever.

Isn’t this ring absolutely stunning?

20170304_135345.jpg

I just have to say that Ashley has been an absolute pleasure to work with. From the very start, she was incredibly sweet, caring and kind, and even took the time to converse with me back and forth about life as a NICU mom. She, much like myself, had a NICU preemie – and that forges an immediate bond from mother to mother. We talked a bit as I anxiously awaited my ring – and I promise, not one single bit of my experience was unsatisfactory. Not one single thing was made stressful, and the short wait time I experienced was all worth it!

When I received my package and opened it, I loved how pretty the floral printed box was that held my beautiful ring.I also loved the pretty ribbon tied around the box and the Montague Milk Pearls sticker.

As pretty as the packaging was, though, I must admit – I felt like a kid on Christmas and just had to get the box opened and see my ring. I wasn’t mentally prepared for the rush of emotion I felt when I opened the bix, though. I had no idea I’d be emotional at all, in fact. But, I was.And I cried.


For me, the hardest part was choosing just what piece I wanted. Ashley has so many beautiful creations – 48 currently, to be exact – and she adds new and creative items all the time. Not only does she create breast milk jewelry, but she also creates memory jewelry as well. If, like me, you had also never heard of that, it’s definitely something worth looking into to commemorate a sweet memory or important time in life.

She can also create toddler memory jewelry from those special tokens and treasures your child gives to you. Perhaps you’d like to preserve a piece of your wedding dress in jewelry form forever. She can do that too! If you can think it, she can do it. She loves to customize each individual piece of jewelry for each individual she works with. She’s so passionate about what she does, and that really shows through the quality of her work.

I think ordering yourself a piece of breast milk jewelry from Montague Milk Pearls is a fabulous idea as a reward for yourself. Perhaps you’ve set a goal of breastfeeding for 6 months to a year. Once you reach that milestone, perhaps you could reward yourself with a piece of jewelry from her shop. These pieces would also make a fabulous birthday gift or Mother’s Day gift, just in case the man in your life are clueless as to what to get you. *Hint Hint*
Truth be told, memory needs no reason. If you want to indulge in something special and spoil yourself a bit, as a mama, this is the way to go. This is something you can look back on 50 years down the road and say, “I remember those days. Those were some of the best days of my life.” That’s what I wanted to be able to say. And now, with the help of Montague Milk Pearls, I can and I will.


Find Montague Milk Pearls on Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/MontagueMilkPearls

Follow her on Instagram: @montaguemilkpearls

Visit her website (which is where you will place your order): http://www.breastmilkjewelry.org

Follow Ashley on Facebook: http://www.Facebook.com/montaguemilkpearls

Pin her designs on Pinterest: @MontagueMilkPearls

If you have any questions for me about my experience, the ordering process and what it’s like, or if you have any questions for Ashley Montague, please do feel free to let me know in a comment below and I will be sure to forward your questions over to Lady Montague! (notice my Romeo & Juliet reference…see what I did there?)

Have a great day, and thanks for checking out my review!

XO

-S

 

 

 

One thought on “Breast Milk Jewelry: Montague Milk Pearls, a Review

  1. Montague says:

    You are too sweet! What a great experience for me as well! I love doing collaborations with other entrepreneurial women, because of collaborators like you.

    I’m so glad you love your ring and hope your writing endeavors continue to flourish!

    Hugs,
    Ashley

    Like

Leave a Reply

