#PutThePhoneDown Challenge

smart-phones

Hey Everyone.

I was sitting up before bed last night sort of going over the events from the day as I tend to do, and it dawned on me: I spend entirely too much time on my phone. I actually shook my head at myself because I never wanted to be that person. I realized I need to make some changes, and I would like to start by challenging myself to stay off my phone – unless it rings – for one whole day.

It might sound simple at first thought, but if you really think about it…how many times a day are you on your phone, checking in with Instagram and posting pics, and texting random friends or family just for fun? How many times a day are you checking your e-mail, the news, or spending countless hours lost in the whimsical, magical world of Pinterest?

Yeah, I thought so. I know I’m not the only one.

That is why I’m challenging everyone reading this, along with myself, to make this Thursday, March 16, 2017, Put the Phone Down Day. I’m giving it an extra day rather than doing it today to spread the word about the challenge. Maybe you could share this post with friends and family and we can start a movement. Maybe I encourage just one person to accept the challenge for the greater good of their family. Whatever the case may be, I hope you will join me. Think of all the minutes and hours you waste while sitting on your phone, computer, or tablet. Think of all that time you could be spending with your family, really interacting and paying attention to detail. It makes me sad when I think about how much I might have missed out on in my family’s lives because I’ve innocently sat on my phone, doing whatever and wasting time.

Spread the word! Tag #PutThePhoneDown on all of your social media and link your friends and family to this post. You never know; it could change someone’s life.

One thought on “#PutThePhoneDown Challenge

Leave a Reply

