Sunsplash Family Waterpark: A Fun in the Sun Review

Hey, everyone!

I hope you are all having a fantastic evening, and an even better summer thus far. It’s been a great and eventful summer here for our family, and with so much still left to do on the agenda, I’m excited for everything coming our way!

I knew when I was planning our Summer road trips and happenings this year that I was going to include a few stops at local (and not-so-local) water parks in our plans, and I wouldn’t dream of leaving them off the agenda. Moreover, I couldn’t think of not visiting our local water zone: Sunsplash Family Waterpark in Cape Coral, Florida.

susp_logo_web

Disclaimer: FTC guidelines and regulations state that I must disclose that this was a sponsored event, and that I received said admission free in exchange for review purposes. The opinions expressed within this blog post are my own, and have in no way been influenced by a third party.

I was invited to experience SunSplash Family Waterpark located here in beautiful, sunny Cape Coral, Florida by Tina of the park’s PR company, and she was an absolute sweetheart. She was more than helpful in setting everything up and ensuring the kids and I had a fabulous time while at the park.

DSC08419.JPG

View from the parking lot when we stepped out of the car. The walk wasn’t too bad – except, we left our shoes in the car! Hint: Never do that. We have feet burns. Bad ones.

 

Parking cost $5.00 but that’s a small price to pay for a day’s worth of fun! Locker rentals were $11 for a small locker and $13 for a large locker, however, I chose not to get one. I only brought a light canvas bag into the park which included water bottles (no other drinks are allowed in except for water; nor is any food allowed into the park), sunblock, a cup for the baby with water, and my camera. Other than that, everything else could remain out in the car. Admission to the park allows you to leave and re-enter the park so long as you get your hand stamped.

DSC08420.JPG

The view after we entered the park

After we got out of the car, lathered up in sunscreen (scratch that, the baby was lathered up in 50+ SPF, the kids I could barely get to apply any to their cheeks, and as for me, I think I got a smudge of some applied across my nose and one cheek – such is the life of a mom) and retrieved our tickets from the guest relations building, we headed on in to the park and the kids were ready to have some fun in the sun!

A view of a couple of the drop slides and one of the deeper pools (8 ft.) As you can see, there are lifeguards posted for safety and they are located all throughout the park.

I got myself a chair all set up with baby Richi, and we sat and drank some water for a minute while the older kids hit the Main Stream River, otherwise known in most parts of the country as the ‘Lazy River’.

Page-Shot-2017-7-7 Instagram post by Sarah • Jul 6, 2017 at 8_18pm UTC.png

Snapped a pic of my little cutie poolside – took this one with my phone

DSC08425.JPG

Part of the Main Stream River where it meets the family pool

DSC08430.JPG

This baby is called the Electric Slide and drops 5 stories! Or, maybe, it’s the Power Surge – the Electric Slide’s twin. I’m not sure. Either way. They’re both pretty stellar!

There were so many fun things to see and do within the park. I must admit, I have never been to water park with Richi – or any of my babies, for that matter – before, so this was new for me. I made the most of it and we had a great time, though!

For those looking to eat something for lunch, there are a couple different options. As for us, and me being the frugal mama that I am, we packed a lunch and brought it in the car. We did leave the park and take a lunch break, but the stands within the park offer burgers, ice cream, and more.

As an added plus, the park does provide water fountains for those looking to have fun on the cheap (or for those who forgot to bring water bottles). There are, of course, places to purchase drinks within the park as well.

DSC08433.JPG

This trio of slides are known as the Thunder Bump, Terror Tube and the X-Celerator. These are high speed slides gives you the feeling of catching air or ‘going airborne’. If that’s your thing, these ones are for you! This is also the longest of the 3 high speed slides.

There were so many thrilling water slides and rides to enjoy, but of course with Baby Richi I had to make a pass this time. Next time, however, I will be sure to bring Big Richi with me to watch him while I hit all the slides! Alex said his favorite slide was Cape Fear, which I didn’t get a picture of, but you can see it here. The other two kids were of the same opinion.

DSC08436.JPG

The brand new Pirate’s Cove, which just opened up, and where Baby Richi and I spent most of our time. This attraction is suitable for tiny tots and preschool aged children up to age 8-10, I’d say. It features a nice wading pool that only goes up to 6 inches, which is perfect for little guys like Richi who are just learning to get used to the water. There are water slides, bursts and gushes of water, and more!

Not only are there water slides, pools, a river to float around on, but there is also a volleyball court where you can gather with your friends or family for a friendly game of volleyball. Aside from that, there are lawn chairs and a sandy man made beach to enjoy as well. Cool off in the family pool which is located directly next to the beach and volleyball court.

The rain tree is also a really cool place to cool off!

DSC08439

He was obsessed with the froggy. Every time we walked away, he would point and say ‘ibbit’ ‘ibbit’ until I walked back so he could tap it with his little hands and play drums on the froggy’s tongue. It was the cutest thing!

DSC08440

Another pic, just for the cuteness effect

In total, we spent about 3 hours in the park. We got there around noon and we left a few minutes after 3. It might not seem like a long stay, but there’s only so much to do with a tiny toddler and to be honest, the sun was brutal. I am actually glad I didn’t stay any longer, because my back stings a bit and its borderline sunburned.

All in all, we had a fantastic time. It’s always such a great feeling to get out and do something fun with the kids. Unfortunately, Richi couldn’t join us because he had to work. But, it was great for the kids and I. I love seeing them all smile and laugh.

Here’s one more picture of the kids before I close out my review:

 

DSC08445

At Pirates Cove. This pic looks cool with the storm rolling in! I wanted to get the water gushing from the top of the pirate hat in the background as it would have looked so cool, but Baby Richi wasn’t quite having it. He was trying to squirm out of Alex’s arms here!

All in all, it was an awesome time and I would do it all over again. I highly recommend this attraction if you are in the area, if you’re planning a visit to Cape Coral, Florida, or along your travels through the state! It’s well worth the money – and it’s so much more affordable than taking the family to other more expensive locations (think Orlando). Ticket prices can be found here.

In terms of a rating, I give Sun Splash Family Waterpark a 4/5 star rating. I wish there was more in terms of things for toddlers to do, but everything else was great. If the park would make a toddler specific zone where there was an age/height requirement to avoid the bigger children nearly trampling the tiny ones, I’d feel a whole lot better and not be so nervous. Aside from that, though, everything was awesome and we had a blast!

I want to give a huge thank you to Tina for making this trip possible – and also, to Sun Splash Family Waterpark of Cape Coral for making this family trip so worth the time! We had such a great day at your park and look forward to going again very soon.

Check Sun Splash out on the web here and be sure to buy your tickets for your next trip to Cape Coral. For questions, you can reach them at (239) 574-0558, or visit the park at 400 Santa Barbara Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33991.

Leave a Reply

