New England’s Finest: A Subscription Box Review Post + Discount Code

I’d like to paint you a mental picture for just a moment, if I could.

Imagine stepping outside and inhaling crisp, cool air as leaves fall softly like snowflakes from the trees. They crunch softly beneath your feet as you casually stroll along, admiring their many shades of brilliant color. No noise can be heard save for the occasional bird call, or the snapping of twigs as squirrels chase each other to and fro. You look up and gaze at the beautiful mountains in the distance, and then close your eyes and take a mental picture. This, my friends, is what it’s like to live in New England. At least, it is in the fall. And the fall was always my absolute favorite season of all growing up.

fall-landscape-in-the.jpg

Fall foliage in the Berkshires (MA) – Photo copyright Travelocity

For those who don’t know, I’m actually a Massachusetts native – but since the age of 18, I’ve called South Florida home. I’ve realized over time that I don’t miss the people, for the most part. What I do miss is the brilliant, breathtaking scenery. Those gorgeous trees when the foliage takes over, the beauty of the first frost, and first snowfall. Making snowmen and having snowball fights. The way the snow made everything seem magical and peaceful all at once. That bluish glow it has at first light, sparkling as the sun begins to emerge from behind an overcast sky, seemingly drowning out any and all noise and absorbing it into it’s blanket. Yes, my friends…I do miss it. I miss all of New England.

That’s why I am so very excited about today’s post. I am beyond excited, if I’m being honest. I was given the opportunity to review a wonderful subscription service from nowhere other than my homeland – New England! Everyone, I’d like to tell you about New England’s Finest.

NewEngland_final_color_landing_228x.png

New England’s Finest is a subscription box unlike anything else I’ve personally ever seen. Most of us have heard of the beauty subscription boxes, and the breastfeeding subscription boxes – heck, there are even magic subscription boxes. But I had never dreamed there could be a subscription service like this one. New England’s Finest is a wonderful subscription service which hand selects and puts together these lovely boxes for its subscribers once per month, or even for a one time delivery, depending upon your preference. Within these boxes, you can expect to find some of the best indulgences New England has to offer.

Let me tell you all a little bit about the team behind New England’s Finest.

Actually, I will let them tell their own story (from their ‘About Me’ section on their website):

We are so grateful that you found your way to this page and really appreciate your curiosity and interest in New England’s Finest. Where to begin? As New England natives, curious travelers, and entrepreneurs, my wife Melissa and I have developed a strong love and appreciation for all things New England. As we have gotten older, experienced more of the world, and built stronger ties with communities, families, and businesses across the region, we have always been impressed by two things – New England’s distinct character and the creative, entrepreneurial spirit that drives so much of our economy. Steeped in over 400 years of history and a landscape like no other, the region’s character is one of a kind. Whether a student, a traveler, an entrepreneur or adventurer, New England tends to lure people to its beautiful shores, storied mountains, and charming villages and towns. With a rich and vibrant culture of entrepreneurship and “Yankee ingenuity,” small businesses changing the world in countless different ways are launched daily. Whether it is a chocolatier working out of their kitchen or a hundred-year-old family-owned furniture manufacturer, the ingenuity, creativity, and craftsmanship displayed by the countless small businesses across these six states are distinct and impressive. Needless to say, we think New England is wicked awesome and when it came time to decide on where to settle, plant roots, and raise our four children, it was a no-brainer.

We realize that this love for New England is shared by countless of others who not only live here but have had the pleasure of visiting or have called New England home in the past. With a background in marketing, my mind began to connect the dots. If New England was as popular as we thought, there must be a need going unfulfilled. How does a Florida retiree originally from Massachusetts or an NYC resident who visits Vermont periodically satiate their New England “cravings” at home? Our research showed there was no solution, so in the summer of 2016, over a couple of glasses of wine (from a local vineyard of course), Melissa and I came up with the concept that later became New England’s Finest.

We appreciate this opportunity to share our love of New England with you and hope you stay connected with us as we grow and evolve. We are learning every day and are always open to new ideas on how we can rediscover the unique flavor and charm of the northeast, so if you have a thought or suggestion, please don’t hesitate to reach out. Thank you for reading and sharing this journey with us.

So, as you can see, Matt and Melissa have a strong love for New England – so much so that they curated this delectable, wonderful, amazing subscription service for those of us who adore the culture and beauty of New England, and who really miss and need a taste of home. Also, for anyone wondering what all the New England hype is about – this is also for you!

I was literally tracking my package and looking forward to it the whole journey from New Hampshire to Florida. I couldn’t wait to receive it (just ask my kids!) and once it did arrive, I took straight to social media and snapped a few pics of myself being a goofball and shared the excitement with everyone.

DSC08486

Instagram: @ThatCrazyBloggyMom

Page-Shot-2017-7-24 Sarah ( thatcrazybloggymom) • Instagram photos and videos(2).png

Me, on Instagram @ThatCrazyBloggyMom

When I finally opened my long awaited box, the first thing I noticed was how beautifully and neatly everything was packaged – which is more than I can say for some other subscription boxes, unfortunately. Upon opening, I realized I received the Sweets and Treats box, and I knew I was in trouble. Sweets are my addiction. Regardless, I pleasantly surprised!

DSC08500

 

Inside my box, I received the following:

  • Road Trip Food Company’s Vermont Fudge Sauce Classic | VT
  • Coastal Maine Popcorn Company’s Maine Maple Popcorn | ME
  • CB Stuffer’s Dark Chocolate Caramel with Sea Salt Peanut Butter Cup | MA
  • Big Picture Farm’s Goat Milk Sea Salt & Vanilla Caramels | VT
  • Taza Chocolate’s Espresso Buzz Amaze Bar | MA
  • Lucy’s Granola’s Granola Coated Toffee | ME

DSC08505

At first glance, I was the most excited to try absolutely everything.

No, seriously.

I didn’t know how to choose which item I wanted to try first, so I opted for the easiest – a sweet, buttery, indulgent caramel. And oh my goodness, for a moment, I was transported to Heaven! I just had to share some with the kids and my husband. They all had the same reaction as I did. Eyes got big, smiles reached from ear to ear, and for a minute, there was nothing but peace and quiet as everyone enjoyed. That in itself was rewarding and was almost as good as the caramel itself. Almost.

DSC08516

I’m not being over dramatic here, guys. Those caramels are literally the Bomb.com!

Big Picture Farm’s Goat Milk Sea Salt & Vanilla Caramels are wonderful! They are crafted at a beautiful, wonderful small goat farm in Vermont, where the goats are humanely treated and raised, and cared for. Happy goats = better goat milk. They are the perfect mix of sweet, buttery, and melty, with a great sea salt crunch right there in the middle. I loved that you could taste the goat milk as a finish and it was not overpowering as goat milk can sometimes be. I also loved the little goats on the packaging, as well as the trees. The packaging itself was so beautiful!

DSC08515

Then, there was the fudge. Road Trip Food Company’s Vermont Fudge Sauce Classic, to be exact – and their fudge sauce has won awards and is also what the Road Trip Food Company has gained a huge following for. I had some over ice cream, heated and melted and gooey. I adored the flavor – it was probably the best hot fudge I’ve personally ever tasted. I’ve honestly never had any fudge quite like this one. It was so smooth and creamy and sweet! I also noticed they use coffee in their fudge. Nice! No wonder I am so in love with it. Coffee = life! I also have to admit, I ate some straight out of the jar with a spoon while it was cold and hardened from the fridge – and it was just as wonderful! With half a jar down on my own, I doubt if this jar will make it to see the top of the kids’ ice cream later tonight! LOL Sorry, guys.

DSC08512

Coastal Maine Popcorn Company’s Maine Maple Popcorn is every bit as sweet, light, and airy as I hoped it would be. It’s air popped and then flavored in small batches, which provides each piece of popcorn with the best flavor possible. When most people think Maine, they think lobster – and rightly so, because they’ve got some of the best lobster tails in the world. However, the Coastal Maine Popcorn Company has many different flavors to love and choose from – but I truly love this particular flavor included with my box from New England’s Finest. If you like kettle corn, or caramel corn, or even maple syrup flavor, you’ll love this!

DSC08514

Lucy’s Granola’s Granola Coated Toffee, from Maine, is a great sweet treat to bring with you on the go, as it comes in a convenient plastic packaging, so it’s great to toss into a purse, diaper bag, or even to leave in the car. It’s a great pick-me-up after a long day or to hold you over until dinner. I truly enjoyed the toffee flavor, and anyone who knows me knows I adore granola everything. I really enjoyed this bar from Lucy’s Granola.

DSC08511

CB Stuffer’s Dark Chocolate Caramel with Sea Salt Peanut Butter Cup has got to be the hugest peanut buter cup I’ve ever seen in my life! I have to admit I was so anxious to try this one being that it was from my home state, and, um – helloooo….it’s a huge peanut butter cup. A very tasty looking one, to boot. I love that you can see the gorgeous sea salt crystals sprinkled all over the top. I also love that you don’t have to feel too bad about eating this one, as it’s dark chocolate which, by the way, is proven to be good for your health. And the combination of dark chocolate, caramel,CB Stuffer’s Dark Chocolate Caramel with Sea Salt Peanut Butter Cup peanut butter, and sea salt? Insanity. I swear, I would order many, many more of these. And hide them all from my kids and husband. I think I’m getting stingy.

DSC08513

Taza Chocolate’s Espresso Buzz Amaze Bar was definitely a favorite. I am really big on tasting the cacao pieces in my chocolate bars, otherwise, the chocolate just seems….fake. Taza Chocolate’s Espresso Buzz Amaze Bar contains 70% dark chocolate and organic cacao beans, which are stone ground for a bolder flavor – and boy, could you really taste the lovely espresso addition and crunch. I swear, this bar did not disappoint!

DSC08518.JPG

After having tried every product in the box and after having analyzed them all, I can seriously say it’s hard to choose a favorite item. Every single item that was hand picked for this box was so wonderful in it’s own way, and had all the right kick each product should have. I was so satisfied with each and every product. I’ve gotten subscription boxes in the past where I could pick a favorite item and the rest were sub-par, but not with New England’s Finest.

You guys…

This box literally transported me back to my roots, back to my home, back to childhood memories. This box was so much more than a bunch of chocolate-y goodness. It was a meaningful way to revisit my home without having to set foot out my own front door. It was amazing to be able to share these pieces of home with my kids and my husband. It nearly made me cry when I opened the box. I really can’t express how much this simple box meant to me. Thank you, New England’s Finest.

With a few different options to choose from, New England’s Finest would make a great addition to your monthly subscription boxes, and an even more fabulous gift for a loved one for a special occasion or birthday! Also, Christmas is coming up – if you have a loved one who loves sweet treats and enjoys the beauty of New England – or, if you have a friend who could use a taste of home, give them the gift of a subscription. Here are their available options for subscription service currently. And shipping is FREE!

Page-Shot-2017-7-24 Give A Gift.png

Here are the types of boxes they have available, currently.

Page-Shot-2017-7-24 Products.png

If you have a man in your life, this would make the perfect gift for any occasion. Whether it’s a one time gift or a recurring subscription, he will enjoy things like:

  • Wayward Gourmet’s Steak Your Claim Grilling Rub | NH
  • Little Acre Gourmet’s Maple Roasted Peanuts with Sea Salt | NH
  • Gutsey Bar’s Boston Bar | MA
  • Vermont Smoke and Cure’s Uncured Bacon Pork Sticks | VT
  • Blackwater Mustard Company’s Hot & Sweet Mustard | NH
  • Beveridge Beer & Soap Company’s Man Cave Beer Soap | NH

(Note: Items may be subject to change at any time as per New England’s Finest’s discretion)

I absolutely loved testing out and reviewing the products within this box for all of you, and I hope you enjoyed reading this blog post. Although long, I wanted it to be as informative as possible so you knew making the decision to subscribe to this service was so worth the investment.

New England’s Finest was kind enough to extend a discount code to all of my readers and friends! Use code BloggyMom for 10% off of any order. Be warned, though, the items you receive are wicked good, and wicked addicting!

Enjoy, and happy indulging!

-S

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

