What It’s Like to be a Mom to Teens and a Toddler

I often hear the phrase, “Wow, you have quite an age gap between your newest baby and your other kids!”

That’s absolutely correct. I do. I didn’t intend on having such a huge age gap, but there it is. It exists. And it honestly doesn’t bother me in the least. Seriously. Not even a little bit.

My oldest child is 18 years old, and my youngest is 18 months old.

That being said, I sometimes hear, “You’re crazy for starting over now!”, as my second youngest is now 13. Well, truth be told, I didn’t quite intend on things happening this way. You see, 8 or so years ago, I was told I wouldn’t ever be able to have any more children. That it would take a ‘miracle from God‘ for me to ever get pregnant again, and that if I did, I would never be able to carry the baby to term. The reason being: Adenomyosis.

Well, the doctor was wrong, God was on my side, and here he is. My little guy exists. And I am blessed beyond measure that I have him.

Here is a pic of him recently:

2017-06-02-07-34-38-209-1.jpg

When I got pregnant with him, we were trying but not very hopeful. You see, I had suffered a very early miscarriage a couple months prior to finding out about Richi. So, essentially, I learned that I could get pregnant again. Even though I was dealing with so much pain and grief over the baby that I wanted for so long being lost, I was absolutely elated yet terrified when I found out about my rainbow pregnancy with Richi.

When I almost lost him at 12 weeks due to a subchorionic hemorrhage (SCH), my world began falling apart fast and it put everything into perspective. I would truly be lucky to ever make it till the end, and I knew if he did survive, that God had a special plan for him.

Fast forward to 33 weeks along in my pregnancy, and he was born via emergency c-section.

You see, you gain a whole new acceptance, love, adoration and appreciation for new life when you are faced with scary and difficult circumstances.

I didn’t care that I was beginning all over again. I was just happy to be beginning at all. I was so thrilled that he was here. And I was even more happy that this proves miracles happen every single day.

So, when people ask me why I did it, or why I wanted another baby, or why there is such a huge age gap, I now say, “it was in God’s plan”.

Nothing more needs to be said. I don’t owe these people an explanation. I don’t owe anybody anything.

So, what’s it like to be a mom to teens and a toddler at the same time?

Amazing. Crazy. Stressful. Hard. A blessing. Joyful. Adventurous.

Awesome.

Need I say more?

 

Leave a Reply

